Tags

, ,

A few years ago I found this recipe and may have modified it over the years.  This year I tried a few other recipes I found on the internet and still went back to this tried and true recipe for Detox Bath Bombs.  You will need at least one or an assortment of silicone baking molds.

The Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Epsom Salt
  • 1 cup Baking Soda
  • 10-20 drops Essential Oil of Your Choice
  • Hydrogen Peroxide to Moisten the Mixture

The Instructions:

  1. Combine Epsom Salt and Baking Soda in a bowl.
  2. Sprinkle in the Essential Oils of you choice until you have the scent you desire, but don’t go over 20 drops.
  3. Gradually add in Hydrogen Peroxide a teaspoon or so at a time until the mixture clumps and holds it clump when you pinch it together.  You don’t want to add the Hydrogen Peroxide too fast or your mixture will desolve, but you need it moist enough that it will hold the form of the mold once dried.
  4. Now pack the mixture into the silicone mold of your choice.  As you pack if you notice the mixture dry add a bit more Hydrogen Peroxide, if the mixture is dry and crumbly going into the mold it will be dry and crumbly coming out of the mold and not hold your intended shape.
  5. Allow your bath bombs to dry for 24 hours.  Do not try to dry these in the oven. We tried to rush the process this year as we were making holiday gifts and ruin a batch.  The heat of the oven seems to ignite a chemical reaction, our bath bombs bubbled over into a mess.
  6. Pop these beauties out of the mold and you have a luxurious bath product that will detox your body and depending on the essential oil you used it will provide other benefits as well.

Other Notes:

  • Play with the sizes and shape you make.
  • I made some Tee Tree Oil shower bombs this year that I am falling in love with.  I made them small, 1″ x 1″ x 1/2″.  These were made with the intention of tapping into the anti fungal benefits of tea tree oil, but I have found the scent to be especially refreshing in the shower.  I experimented with some vaporizer shower bombs, but I like the Tea Tree Shower Bombs much better to clear my sinuses.
  • I am also experimenting with adding coconut oil to this recipe for added moisturizing while in the bath.  I was worried that the bath would become slippery, but I tested one in the bath the other night and found there to be no slippery residue after bathing.  I will keep playing with this and post that recipe once ready.

Now make some Bath Bombs and pamper yourself. Let me know if you have any questions.

